Emily Dobson Photography

Did Someone Say Free? June 14, 2009

Filed under: Investment,Portraits — edobson86 @ 10:13 PM

As a new photographer in a brand new community, I need a way to showcase my work and get my name out there as one of the area photographers. When I started photography in Memphis, I offered free sessions to a few of my closest friends and hoped the pictures in my portfolio and on my blog would speak for themselves. Fortunately for me, my friends spoke for me! Word of mouth was my greatest asset during my first few months as a photographer. After a few free sessions, I had people seeking me to take their pictures rather than me seeking them.

 

Over the past several weeks, I’ve contemplated how to appropriately start my business here in Macon, and get the “word of mouth” rolling again. Solution? Free sessions! It worked the first time, so why wouldn’t it work a second time?

 

THE SCOOP:

I am going to conduct 10 FREE portrait sessions including maternity, newborn, children, family, engagement, and bridal. (Note: 10 total sessions, not 10 of each category.) Seniors are excluded as I already have something rolling in this area! Each session will be conducted at the location of your choice within 30 miles of my home at 311 Butler in Macon, MO. The session will last one hour. Afterwards, you will receive a private online gallery of 20-25 images from which you will be able to order prints and/or an image CD. In addition, the first 3 people to book one of the free sessions will receive one free 8×10 print from their session.

 

I’M IN:

1. EMAIL ME NOW! This offer is first come, first serve.  You will need to contact me via e-mail as I do not have a cell phone for the next month. Please include your name, telephone number, e-mail address, and of course the reason you’re contacting me (you want a free session and the type of session you want)!

 

2. Wait for a response. I will be attending a World Changers mission trip with the youth of Macon First Baptist July 23-Aug. 2; therefore, I will not be returning any e-mails during this time. However, I will make note of those who get first priority when I return!

 

3. Submit a $25 refundable deposit to reserve your free session. Why? Unfortunately, I am unable to take the risk of a last minute cancelation after turning down others who were interested in the free session as well. The $25 deposit will be held until the day of your session. The deposit will be returned to you during your session unless you cancel less than 48 hours before the scheduled date/time. Spots will only be reserved for the first 10 people to submit the $25 deposit and return the consultation form (more information later).

 

4. Have fun! We will conduct a very relaxed one-hour session. Wear something that showcases your personality! And if you have any questions, just ask.

 

5. Spread the word! After your session, please spread the word about Emily Dobson Photography. Be sure to tell them how much fun you had having your pictures made by Emily Dobson. For every referral (up to five), you will receive a free 5×7 print from your session. What have you got to lose?!

 

IMPORTANT:

  • Sessions will be scheduled Monday through Saturday mornings and evenings. Sessions can be right away or several months down the road.
  • Children/Family sessions may include up to four people. There will be a $10.00 per person fee over four.
  • Maternity sessions are best between 32-37 weeks.
  • Newborn sessions are best the first week after birth, but can be conducted up to 14 days.
  • This offer expires December 5, 2009.

 

Well friends, what are you waiting for? EMAIL ME! e.dobson86@yahoo.com

 

 

Kids Collage

 

 

 

 

 

Senior Collage

 

 

 

 

 

Bridal Collage #2

 

 

 

 

 

Couples Collage #1

 

 

 

 

 

Kids Collage #2

 

 

 

 

 

Senior Collage #2

 

 

 

 

 

Couples Collage #2

 

 

 

 

 

Music Collage

 

 

 

 

 

Bridal Collage

 

2 Responses to “Did Someone Say Free?”

  1. […] Don’t forget about those FREE SESSIONS! […]

  2. […] @ 8:00 AM I’ve had several session inquiries over the past couple of weeks, and my FREE SESSIONS are booking quickly. If you still want one I do have a couple left, so act fast and CALL […]


Leave a Reply

