Emily Dobson Photography

Be A Hero October 30, 2009

Filed under: Personal — edobson86 @ 1:46 PM

Only 36 days until the St. Jude Half Marathon – the one I was training for until my Doc said no can do. He didn’t like the idea of me pushing my body for training during the first trimester of the pregnancy…even though Brooke got to run it when she was six months preggo!!!!!!!!!!!!! Oh well. The sacrifices we make for our little ones…I can’t wait to tell this little girl/boy how much cookie dough I passed up during these 9 months. Today I’m making monster cookies for the FBC Fall Family Festival tomorrow. There is a gigantic bowl of cookie dough sitting in my kitchen right now. I could seriously eat the whole bowl. And no, I’m not kidding.

Back to the marathon. Before I moved to Memphis, I considered myself to be a fairly in shape gal who liked to run now and then. When Wade and I joined our Young Married Sunday School class, I quickly realized I was a lazy bum! These girls run marathons and half marathons like it’s no big thing. So, I decided I wanted to see if I could run farther. I remember the first time I ran 4 miles, I couldn’t wait to tell Lori – the girl known for running her life away – that I had finish 4 miles! Well, turns out Lori became my running buddy, which lead to a very special friendship. When she asked if I wanted to run the St. Jude Half with her last year I was all for it…until I started my first year of teaching and coaching. Then I said, “Uh, heck no.” When we moved to Macon this summer, I thought it would be really cool to train for the half and meet Lori in Memphis in December for some much needed catch up time, and of course for old times sake: run together. After five weeks of training including an eight miler, I found out I couldn’t run due to the pregnancy. SAD DAY!

Well, Lori is a running machine and she’ll probably do it every year her body will allow her to. In fact, she’s going to be the crazy lady running the half with a stroller and baby in front. I will post the picture on my blog when it happens!

Since I can’t go run with Lori like I planned, I decided to become a St. Jude Hero. In order to  become a St. Jude Hero, I simply made a small donation to help the precious children of St. Jude Hospital fight cancer.  You too can become a St. Jude Hero! Whether you can give $10 or $500, I challenge you to give something. Place yourself in the shoes of those incredible children spending their entire lives fighting to live another day. Imagine if one of your kids came down with such a horrible disease and you needed the help and support of others to make sure your amazing child not only lived to see another day, but lived to say, “I’m a survivor!”

St. Jude’s Patient of the Month: Sean Witsoe

Patient of the Month

Because I feel this cause is so important, I want to reward those who donate. And I will reward ANY $10+ donation in one of two ways: 

1. Current and Former Clients: By donating a minimum of $10 to St. Jude Hospital through the webpage of Lori Williams, I will give you a complimentary Accordion Mini Book (pictures below) to show off up to 10 images from your latest session. After logging on to Lori’s St. Jude webpage and donating as little as $10, simply shoot me an e-mail or leave a comment below stating “I became a St. Jude Hero!” I will verify the information with Lori (so be sure to specify your name) and in 2-3 weeks, you will have an Accordion Mini Book to show off to all of your friends!

OR

 

 

2. Curent, Former, and Future Clients: By donating a minimum of $10 to St. Jude Hospital through the webpage of Lori Williams, I will give you $15 OFF your next session! You may book one session anytime between now and March 1st and receive a $15 discount off your regular session fee (or Holiday package). Again, simply shoot me an e-mail or leave a comment below stating “I became a St. Jude Hero!” I will verify the information with Lori (so be sure to specify your name) and we’ll set up a date and time to conduct your session.

Lori is halfway to her goal of raising $1,000 for St. Jude Children’s Hospital. Please visit her webpage to donate and help those precious children and families at St. Jude!!!! www.mystjudeheroes.org/lwilliams.

Pictures compliments of my professional lab:

AcordWallet

Accord_closeup

 

Leave a Reply

