Emily Dobson Photography

Ben and Jessica – {Macon, MO Engagement Photography} November 13, 2009

Filed under: Engagement — edobson86 @ 7:00 AM

The past several weeks have been super busy around here. Last Monday, I started as the full-time permanent sub/secretary for the Special Education department at Macon R-I. The job is pretty laid back, and isn’t much different than a regular sub. The only differences are that I’m only allowed to sub for SPED teachers and I’m guaranteed work every day. I’m grateful for the full-time income while I strive to build my photography business and of course, before the baby comes.

 

The downfall is the daytime hours I used to have for photography: replying e-mails, editing, placing orders, packaging, booking more sessions, conducting the sessions, etc. etc. I love photography, and I know God has blessed me thus far in the business. But I also really love my husband! I feel bad when he gets home from work and is ready to hang out, and I’m just starting round two of my daily work. Thankfully, I have an understanding and supportive husband. He doesn’t make me feel bad or pressure me to step away from my efforts to build my business. What can I say? He loves me too!

 

When time is cut short, the blog is neglected. It’s been 12 days since my last post – SHAME ON ME! I hope you all understand that I wish I could blog every day, but for now I’ll have to do my best to get one to two blogs a week. While this hasn’t happened lately, it is my goal! My blog has done wonders for my business and has helped me grow to where I am today. So the least I can do for my readers is commit to reaching my goal! Thanks for being patient with me guys!

 

So the first step in reaching my goal is to publish Ben and Jessica’s mock engagement session. Ben and Jessica were one of the couples to receive the free engagement session to help me build my website. I actually went to school with them at Hannibal-LaGrange College. During my first semester, Jessica and I lived on the same floor in Memorial Hall. She lived approx. three rooms down from me and across the hall. I also had College Algebra with her. I remember these random details because I remember we were nearing the end of the semester and it was almost time for Christmas break when one morning in College Algebra Jessica turned to a friend on the left and said, “My boyfriend propsed to me last night!” She was ecstatic! I didn’t really know Jess at the time, but I was excited for her and dreaming of my own proposal one day.

 

The next school year, I was in the traveling music ministry team, Covenant. In January 2006, Jessica joined Covenant because one of the other members was unable to return to HLG. Covenant was a great experience for all 6 (and 7 the next year) of us girls. We had the opportunity to travel in a huge church van to and from churches across northeast Missouri and create lots of crazy memories in the van and on our trips. I’m thankful for the time I spent with Jessica and got to know her. All of the Covenant girls, including Jessica, helped me grow closer to the Lord. They challenged me in my walk with Him. After I left Covenant to graduate and get married, I rarely had the opportunity to revisit my Covenant friends. When Jess contacted me about becoming one of the couples for my website, I was thrilled! It was so good to spend time with her and Ben. We had a great time and what a compliment it was for both of them to tell me at the end that they had worked with other photographers before, but never had as much fun as they did with me. Thats what I do. I want the photo session to be a fun experience for everyone involved. Even the guys who hate pictures-you know who you are!

 

You’ll notice there has been a bit of a change for Emily Dobson Photography. A special THANK YOU to Patty Dill for creating my new logo! Website should be up and running very soon now!!

 

 

 

BJSpurgeon16

 

 

 

BJSpurgeon10

 

 BJSpurgeon28

 

 

 

BJSpurgeon30

 

 

 

 

BJSpurgeon02

 

 

 

BJSpurgeon38

 

 

 

BJSpurgeon44

 

Leave a Reply

