Emily Dobson Photography

Sunday Afternoon Bliss February 7, 2010

Filed under: Personal — edobson86 @ 3:01 PM

I sit here on a Sunday afternoon enjoying the blissful atmosphere of the house. Wade is busy prepping for the Crossover Student Ministry Super Bowl Party at 5:00, and I am here alone in the quiet – something I often take for granted. There is a Caramel-Pecan Cheesecake Pie in the oven that I will be taste-testing prior to sending off to the MFBC staff luncheon tomorrow. I am thankful for this quiet, peaceful moment because I know that in 14 short weeks these quiet moments will be few and far between. The excitement and anticipation of Baby Dobson’s arrival is increasing with each passing day. We’re ready to meet this little guy… OR girl!

 

 

Today, I am thankful. I am thankful for an early out on Friday, which provided me with a much needed relaxing Friday evening and Saturday. I am thankful for a husband who took me on a date last night for some great food at Rick’s American Grill in Moberly and a movie: Dear John. (Although, I don’t recommend this movie as it was a huge disappointment!) I am thankful for a mom I can call and get recipes from, a dad I can call and get coaching advice from, a sister who laughs at my goofiness, and two brothers who always crack jokes. I am thankful for Cadbury eggs even though I do not have any today. I am thankful for a new baby cousin, Kinsley. I am thankful for a pastor who preaches the Word and gives the Holy Spirit a chance to convict me each Sunday. I am thankful for a relaxing Sunday afternoon, and the pizza I will soon devour.

 

 

Take a moment today to leave a comment and tell me, what are you thankful for?  

 

 

 

 

 

3 Responses to “Sunday Afternoon Bliss”

  1. Mom Says:

    I am thankful for a daughter and son-in-law who are going to make me a Grandma! –even though Wade says I will never get to see the baby–

    • Rebecca Flake Says:

      I’m thankful for a special nephew & niece (by marriage-but we should drop that part) who ARE thankful for those special times and realize that these are the moments given by our great God that make every day so special. John 10:10 says “The thief comes only to steal and kill and destroy; I have come that they may have life, and have it to the full.” I believe these sweet moments are part of God’s promise of having life–to the full! Praying you continue to have many “sweet moments” to be thankful for!

  2. […] Caramel-Pecan Cheesecake Pie turned out to be quite spectacular! I tried a small piece last night, and gave Wade a bite that […]


Leave a Reply

